talking to myself

July 17, 2008

change = progress

So if change = progress what are we changing? Are you changing? Is someone else changing? We want everyone else to change but don’t want to have to change ourselves? Or we want to change ourselves…. but we don’t…. ?
I try to think of the things that I want to change and then put them into categories…
What I physically can change…
What I can influence to hopefully change…
What I want to change…
What I can’t change..

and a lot of them overlap too… But once they fall into the “what I can’t change” category I have to be able to let it go. Because there are a few things that you can’t change… and one huge one is other people. If someone has no desire to change themselves there is NOTHING you can do….and all the years of energy and effort and care and concern will really do absolutely nothing in the long run. Isn’t that disheartening? What about those who feel that if you keep at it… eventually… maybe someday.. something will change? It’s possible. It happens occasionally… but when do you stop and when do you “give up”? I am not a giver-uper. I don’t give up easily … so maybe that’s why I am so disheartedned when nothing changes?
It’s kind of funny that I perservere through so much and at the same time I am really impatient. Don’t know how that works. haha

Anyway – this ramble today was brought to by the word, “CONTROL”, and the number 8.

2 Comments »

  1. Progress could be made in either direstion, I guess it doesn’t always have to be positive or perhaps that’s just my pessimism shining through. Ergh sorry I’m a little lost right now but great blog from what I’ve read so far x

    Comment by eccedentesiast — July 17, 2008 @ 5:13 pm

  2. Great post!

    Working on a post about leading others through change, soon should post it. From my view, what most people dont realize about change is that its a personal affair. What i mean by this is simple: you cant change anyone, you can only guide them through the process of changing. The ultimate power to choose change lies in the hand of the individual and they alone can personally agree to whether accepting change or not.

    Comment by T.J. Philips — July 24, 2008 @ 12:36 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

